"Did I do that?"

Many may remember the corny but amusing television show called, Family Matters, with Steve Urkel. Urkel was famous for making plunders, and in his annoying, Urkely tone of voice, asking, “Did I do thaaat?”

Lately, as I reflect on the course of my adult life, I hear Urkels nasily voice asking myself, “Did I do thaaaat?” How many times did I have a choice before me, and stepped out believing that what I was doing was the perfect will of God, only to question where I was, and what I was doing.

The combination of homeschooling my remaining children, caring for a house, running a ministry (and the endless amount if emails and paperwork to get it off the ground) laundry, dishes, housework, planning for training events, college classes, and most importantly, RELATIONSHIPS, can make me feel like I am sinking into the miry clay faster than I can call out the name of Jesus to save me.

Throw in a few renovations in the house, and the constant moving of rooms of furniture as kids grow up and move out, then come back to stay again, and move out again, and then come home from college…

…the beginning of the empty nest a couple chicks at a time…

Weeding through 25 years of homeschooling curriculum to get rid of some, what goes into a yard sale, what can be donated, fixing up the house and getting rid of material goods in preparation for…

For what Lord?

What is still too difficult to give away? A lifetime of memories.

And in all of this is the dynamics of changing relationships, maturing, evolving, shifting…
from baby to adult, and adult to adult, and sometimes back again.

Once a mom, always a mom but as the children mature it sometimes becomes child to child -I am just as childish at times when I argue with my children -or adult to adult, when I have to repent and admit that they were more mature or correct in their Christlike thinking.

Or maybe it was still, “adult to child” only I was the child? Is chronology everything?

In this I am reminded of God’s plans and purposes. In his ultimate amazing sovereignty.

Behold, children are a gift of the LORD,
The fruit of the womb is a reward.
Like arrows in the hand of a warrior,
So are the children of one’s youth.
How blessed is the man whose quiver is full of them;
They will not be ashamed
When they speak with their enemies in the gate.
Psalm 127:3-5

I stand in awe before a magnificent God who knew how life giving the relationships in my chaotic life would be. Not matter what the tumbles and turns, it was His straight path for me. A God who has let me teach – and learn – from 8 amazing children.

Suddenly, Urkels voice is not quite so obnoxious in my ears.

One thought on “"Did I do that?"

Leave a Reply

