In the Wake of Forever – Moving Forward in God’s Will

As a child, many of my summers were spent camping at Rogers Rock campground in Lake George, NY. We had a pop up trailer, and a 16 foot inboard/ outboard motor boat that were both faithfully towed behind Dad’s Mercedes, and Mom’s Volvo. Yes, we were upper middle class and financially stable, but my parents “wealth” cannot be compared to that which David and I possess.

I used to like to sit in the back of the boat where I would yell, “he’s down” when the person who was  water skiing succumbed to the challenges of staying upright, on two, small, pieces of wood. It became my spot – skiers or not. From here, I could watch the wakes flow out and break apart. I would count how long I could see them- and how far.  As the wave became smaller- the calm water increased in the distance until it was like smooth glass as the wake was reabsorbed into its stillness.  I would then focus on the next wave, shrinking again, as the boat pulled away to disappear into the stillness of the lake. 

In John 3:26, the disciples of John the Baptist warned him that, 
“Rabbi, He who was with you beyond the Jordan, to whom you have testified, behold, He is baptizing and all are coming to Him.” 

However, when they told him, John knew Who he served, and understood the purposes of Jesus the Christ. He went to to say,
“A man can receive nothing unless it has been given him from heaven. “You yourselves are my witnesses that I said, ‘I am not the Christ,’ but, ‘I have been sent ahead of Him.’ (v 27,28)

John, like the boat, received all his power from on high. He knew that like the waves in the wake of the boat’s power, he would decrease and eventually be reabsorbed into the peace and stillness of God.


           “He must increase, but I must decrease. (v30)

I  am finally entering into a place in life, where I know what it means to see the turbulence of my life, like the wake of the boat, reabsorbed into the stillness of the calm lake. Dave and I have been through many trials in recent years – some dangerously large waves that were difficult to navigate through, and others, just ripples.  Some will continue throughout our lives as we come alongside our children, as they navigate in the wake of growing in the love and grace of God. Through it all we become what Christ wants us to become, as His intent for our lives is more about conforming us to His image, than it is about where He wants us to go.

We spend so much time looking at the size of the wake, or where it is going, that we miss being reabsorbed into the stillness of God.We are more concerned at times with what God wants us to do, than who he wants us to become. When we let him absorb us into his peace and stillness, we become one, like the lake, and understand what it means as,” I decrease as He increases. ”  That it is what it means to be, conformed to the image of the Son.

In His Service,
Jamie


Leave a Reply

