Takin’ it to the Streets

e9eed-homelessYou don’t like the clothes they wear, the attitude they possess, the foul language or the abject poverty they live in. They aren’t like you. They aren’t like us. Who wants to hang around with people that we may catch something from. Who knows where they have been, who they hang out with, if they will steal from us, lie to us, maybe even soil our professional, untarnished, religious reputations…
I kind of like the way the Doobie Brothers puts it:

 

“You don’t know me but I’m your brother
I was raised here in this living hell
You don’t know my kind in your world
Fairly soon the time will tell
You, telling me the things you’re gonna do for me
I ain’t blind and I don’t like what I think I see
Takin’ it to the streets

Take this message to my brother
You will find him everywhere
Wherever people live together
Tied in poverty’s despair
You, telling me the things you’re gonna do for me
I ain’t blind and I don’t like what I think I see

Takin’ it to the streets”

Love belongs in the streets. If we know Love, and truly express Love, we go where it is needed most. We go where He is needed most. The very embodiment of Love.

Times are tough, life is tough, the economy is tough, stress is high and so people get higher to get away from the hopelessness of it all. It follows them… Hope may be lost, the future bleak so just take it one day at a time cause there isn’t anyone who really cares. One foot in front of another. But there is someone who cares – God cares. And if we care about God we will care about his children and show it in the streets. We will show it to those who need it the most. Out of our comfort zones and into the Jesus zone. We will do it to the, “least of these.”

God wants us to make a difference in the hell someone else is living in.  Sometimes it is helping with practical needs by putting food on a table or heat in a cold home. Sometimes it is by being a friend and a friend can introduce heaven into the hell of loneliness and isolation. Sometimes all that depression needs to back off is for another person to care. Take it to the streets; proclaim the good news.

“The blind receive sight, the lame walk, those who have leprosy are cleansed, the deaf hear, the dead are raised, and the good news is proclaimed to the poor.”  Matt. 11:5

Leave a Reply

