Lenten Longings – God’s Will in the Moment

He rode into Jerusalem on an donkey. He knew exactly how the short remainder of His life was going to play out. Like a soldier facing a dangerous mission with the possibility of dying; only for Him death was not a possibility but a definite end to His journey. A life lived specifically to suffer, A life lived specifically to die. A life lived to love. A life lived in God’s will.

As vast and numerous as the stars in the sky are the moments we live in the presence of God.

Lenten Longings stars

I missed the last few Lenten services as the realities of this world caught me. First I was away tending to our recent family crisis, then as of Tuesday night I’ve been sick- some weird kind of stomach bug, headache, funky, illness that I seem to be recovering from, then a few hours later I’m back to feeling awful. Most of the time I can’t put my glasses on to read or work without feeling almost immediately sick again. Too much movement also makes me feel weird so I move and sit…move and sit… Needless to say, I have not gotten much done.

I have always thought of God’s will for my life in the grand scheme, the big picture things that effect my destiny. That is how God sees it as He is not caught in the time warp I am. I wrongly assumed I should look through His lens for many years. As I have longed to know His will for my life, I didn’t stop to consider that I was already in His will. I thought of God’s will in my life as the things that I needed to do, the places I should or should not be, the house to buy, the car to drive, where the kids (or I) should go to college, should I go back to college, what should I do with the ministry, should we go on vacation, how to handle our finances (or lack of) what is God’s will for my life...

I pray for God’s will in my children’s lives.

Without ceasing. It is tough to see God in the pain and choices at times, but He’s there.

It isn’t that these things aren’t important and are all a part of God’s will, but they are the big picture, and not the moment by moment presence of God’s will in our lives.

Our lives are a symphony played note by note.

Lenten Longins Sam cello

God’s will isn’t about the things we do, but about who we are. It’s about who will become as we live each moment. It is in the destiny He is fulfilling every nano-second. Every breath.

1 Sam.16:7 reads, “But the LORD said to Samuel, “Do not consider his appearance or his height, for I have rejected him. The LORD does not look at the things people look at. People look at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart.”  

When Jesus was crucified we were given eternal life with Him, not reserved for the day we die, but in an ever present relationship through the Holy Spirit. When he bore our sins and sicknesses on the cross, he bore the past, present, and future – all of the ways, all of the times, all of the places, and all of the events where we would miss the mark and sin. As fallen humanity, corrupted through Adam, every moment we breathe is a moment we sin.

Yet every moment we breathe is a moment in HIs presence.

“Is there anyplace I can go to avoid your Spirit?
    to be out of your sight?
If I climb to the sky, you’re there!
    If I go underground, you’re there!
If I flew on morning’s wings
    to the far western horizon,
You’d find me in a minute—
    you’re already there waiting!: Ps. 139:7-11

You are already waiting for me God? No matter where I go you are there.

He is always present – never out of reach, in the same room, and He never shuts the door.

We do, when we wrongly believe He has.

Lenten Longings door

We live in an eternal moment with an eternal God. 

It takes courage to live in the moment. It takes courage to face an unknown future. It’s not the same kind of courage that Jesus faced as he approached Jerusalem, a soldier must face going into combat, or a person diagnosed with a fatal illness must embrace. It is not the same courage that says “yes” Jesus when the answer means death.

It is the courage that says in this moment. God is all that matters. In this moment, God is with me. In this moment, I am perfectly loved. In this moment, I am in His will simply by being in His presence.

There is grace for the moment, in every moment.

When we live in grace, we live in God’s will, and He is all we need.

I am only longing for one thing right now. I hope the longing never changes.

Your will for my life God, is simply You.

Leave a Reply

